Is a localization software good enough to localize software + help documentation?
Thread poster: croquerm
croquerm
croquerm
English to Spanish
Jul 2, 2010

I am new in the translation field. I am translating a technical software from English to Spanish (*.dll, *.chm, images & examples) Since the company is planning to add more languages in the future, a localization tool seems like the best way to go.

I don't know if a localization software is good enough to translate help content. How do you usually manage the terminology along the software product? I downloaded free trials of Sisulizer, RC Wintrans and Lingobit. I was able to create,
... See more
I am new in the translation field. I am translating a technical software from English to Spanish (*.dll, *.chm, images & examples) Since the company is planning to add more languages in the future, a localization tool seems like the best way to go.

I don't know if a localization software is good enough to translate help content. How do you usually manage the terminology along the software product? I downloaded free trials of Sisulizer, RC Wintrans and Lingobit. I was able to create, import and export TM and even Terminology (in Lingobit) but It seems that these programs do not check for terminology like Trados or MemoQ do.

As far as I know the terminology management help you with translation consistency. This software has a lot of technical and particular words that I need to use continuosly in the software and the documentation.
Collapse

Ramon Somoza
Ramon Somoza  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 00:11
Dutch to Spanish
+ ...
I'd say, no Jul 2, 2010

Tools intended for localization are exactly that - intended for localization, meaning .exe., .dll and other binaries.