Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Are Social Sciences, Sociology, Ethics, etc. good areas to work in?
Thread poster: Maria Julia Comparin
Maria Julia Comparin
Maria Julia Comparin
Brazil
Local time: 15:42
English to Portuguese
Jul 10, 2023

I am a beginner translator and I would like to know if the areas of social sciences, sociology, ethics, anthropology, etc. have a wide job market to work in or if it is difficult to get jobs in these areas. By the way, I am an EN-PT translator.

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 19:42
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
@Maria Julia Jul 11, 2023

The good areas to work in translation are the subject matters you are specialized in and/or the fields you love the most…

expressisverbis
Barbara Carrara
Kay Denney
Christel Zipfel
Becca Resnik
Philip Lees

jyuan_us
jyuan_us  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 14:42
Member (2005)
English to Chinese
+ ...
Social sciences Jul 11, 2023

On the one hand, “Social sciences" are too broad, because any subject that is not scientific in nature can be thought of as related to a social science per se; On the other hand, most translators would claim they can translate in social sciences. The implication is that translators of subjects in social sciences would find it hard to get a rate that is worthy of the time spent.

There would never be a niche market for the specializations of social sciences, if they are specializati
... See more
On the one hand, “Social sciences" are too broad, because any subject that is not scientific in nature can be thought of as related to a social science per se; On the other hand, most translators would claim they can translate in social sciences. The implication is that translators of subjects in social sciences would find it hard to get a rate that is worthy of the time spent.