Off topic: Help with Trados 19
Thread poster: smtranslatorguy
Jan 30, 2023

Hello to everyone who will be reading. I will try and keep this concise.
The very important premise here is that I am a complete noob. That being said, I am working as a translator for this company, and we use trados 19 at work. I am currently trying to watch as many tutorials as I can, been learning a lot of useful things, and I'm currently in the process of understanding how to use translation memories. The other translators at work have a couple translation memories based on the work t
... See more
Hello to everyone who will be reading. I will try and keep this concise.
The very important premise here is that I am a complete noob. That being said, I am working as a translator for this company, and we use trados 19 at work. I am currently trying to watch as many tutorials as I can, been learning a lot of useful things, and I'm currently in the process of understanding how to use translation memories. The other translators at work have a couple translation memories based on the work they've done for the last 3-4 years, they're very useful obviously because they're very specific, and a lot of times I find that like 20% of the text I'm working with is already translated, and that's great.
Other times though, I find that a string might contain a phrase that I'm sure the TM knows already, but I have to manually translate nonetheless. If I manually go look for the phrase in the TM, I find it, but it doesn't come up to me as a possible fragment, even if it would have a better ratio than some of the fragments that DO come up.
It's the same with the entries I put in the TM. If the string is completely identic to the one I confirmed, it gets automatically translated, but if it is like contained in a string that has some other elements, or if there's a one word difference, then I have to type it all over again.