Anastasija Cernotalova
Anastasija Cernotalova
United Kingdom
Local time: 06:01
Latvian to Russian
+ ...
Oct 20, 2022

Dear colleagues,

I have been offered a new translation project, I need to translate the subtitles from RU to ENG (190 minutes long documentary on nuclear physics)
I am new to subtitling, could you pls advice on what current best per-minute rates are and how long would the estimated time for delivering the English subtitles for a 190min documentary be? (I need to set the rates and deadline and see if they agree)

Thank you!

Mr. Satan (X)
Mr. Satan (X)
English to Indonesian
3 Questions Oct 20, 2022

Hello Anastasija,

Before one can provide a meaningful answer, it'd be great if you can supply certain details regarding the project.

1.) Were you requested to translate from a template or to create subtitles from scratch (I presume it’s the former based on your wording)?
2.) Is it for an agency or for a direct client?
3.) Is the content highly technical or only requires surface-level knowledge?

[Edited at 2022-10-20 15:50 GMT]

Anastasija Cernotalova

Anastasija Cernotalova
Anastasija Cernotalova
United Kingdom
Latvian to Russian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Subtitles Oct 20, 2022

True, thanks for pointing that out.

1.) I have a template, no need to timecode and transcribe, just translation
2.) Agency
3.) It is highly technical content

Mr. Satan (X)
Mr. Satan (X)
English to Indonesian
U+2026 Oct 20, 2022

I don’t do highly technical stuff, but you certainly can use this as a leverage to charge a bit more than your standard rates. Nuclear physics is a serious business. If you’re an expert in this subject, they’d have less reason not to hire you. Although in the end, it depends on how much they care about quality. Please bear in mind, that agencies would typically offer lower rates compared to direct clients.

You will need to know (or at least guesstimate) how much progress on av
... See more