Thread poster: Natasha Ziada (X)
Natasha Ziada (X)
Natasha Ziada (X)  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 13:14
English to Dutch
+ ...
May 4, 2013

Hi, I am pretty new to both Proz and Kudoz, so I would like to know what other people think of this.

I recently asked a question in KudoZ quoting a complete sentence to provide as much context as possible, and, as it turned out, this sentence was traceable to the source document on Google. I should have checked this perhaps, but I didn't think of it.

What happened was that one of the answerers did do exactly that, found the source document, and copied the link to the so
... See more
Hi, I am pretty new to both Proz and Kudoz, so I would like to know what other people think of this.

I recently asked a question in KudoZ quoting a complete sentence to provide as much context as possible, and, as it turned out, this sentence was traceable to the source document on Google. I should have checked this perhaps, but I didn't think of it.

What happened was that one of the answerers did do exactly that, found the source document, and copied the link to the source document into the reference field to provide even more context. This to me felt like a breach in confidentiality, ie I felt my anonymity as a translator (and my client's) had been compromised.

But in fact, even if the answerer hadn't posted the link, the sentence would have still been traceable on Google. Did I compromise my own confidentiality by unwittingly revealing the source document, and how can that be avoided in this superdigital day and age? Should I not have provided the complete sentence as context, or 'decoded' it in some way? Or is it simply a matter of 'gentleman's agreement' to not post that kind of information even if it is Googleable?

Thanks for sharing your thoughts
Collapse

NataliaAnne
NataliaAnne  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 00:14
Portuguese to English
Source document was already public May 4, 2013