Does anyone know more sites like Gengo that offer online translation tests?
Thread poster: Nowicka
Nowicka
Nowicka
United Kingdom
Polish to English
+ ...
Oct 16, 2015

Hello I am an established translator who wants to get into work.

I like the idea of sites like gengo.com where if you pass the test on the site you get given work.

Does anyone know of any other sites like gengo.com where youc an pass tests and get a job?

mariealpilles
mariealpilles  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 10:53
English to French
+ ...
Genco Oct 16, 2015

Have you seriously ever got work from them? What they seem to offer is 6, 7, 10 words to translate. I do not call that work and I do not think that is serious. And it seems that you cannot unsubscribe from them.

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 09:53
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Seriously? Oct 16, 2015

Who is going to set and check your translation? Will they have any idea what they're doing? How much will you be paid when they advertise $.05 per word to their clients? $.03 maximum - if you're lucky. And I wonder why they say this "*Please note that we do not translate legal, medical or safety-critical content." Could it just be that they know perfectly well the translation is likely to be rubbish?

You don't have to be "given work" if you're a professional. You can provide your se
... See more
Who is going to set and check your translation? Will they have any idea what they're doing? How much will you be paid when they advertise $.05 per word to their clients? $.03 maximum - if you're lucky. And I wonder why they say this "*Please note that we do not translate legal, medical or safety-critical content." Could it just be that they know perfectly well the translation is likely to be rubbish?

You don't have to be "given work" if you're a professional. You can provide your services to companies who have need of them, for sensible rates.
Collapse

ShantamShivam

Fiona Grace Peterson