What is the quickest way to time/synchronise translated subtitles?
Thread poster: marijaflora
marijaflora
marijaflora
Australia
Local time: 09:12
Bosnian to English
+ ...
Dec 27, 2020

I am relatively new to subtitle work, and I have some clients who request SRT files of video transcripts both in the source language and also in English.

I am finding synchronizing my English translated versions to be an unnecessarily long and tedious process.

I will either:

- Directly translate the video and then manually synchronise the timing of the subtitles using a program such as Aegisub.
Or
- I will copy and paste each (English translati
... See more
I am relatively new to subtitle work, and I have some clients who request SRT files of video transcripts both in the source language and also in English.

I am finding synchronizing my English translated versions to be an unnecessarily long and tedious process.

I will either:

- Directly translate the video and then manually synchronise the timing of the subtitles using a program such as Aegisub.
Or
- I will copy and paste each (English translation) line onto the SRT file that I have already created of the source language, so that the timing remains the same but now with the English translation. Then I will make adjustments as needed.

I am wondering if there is a more efficient way to do this?
For example; is there a way to way to directly place my translated words onto a SRT file with the timing from the previously created SRT file, but without having to copy/paste each line?

Thank you
Collapse

Monique Buzatto
Monique Buzatto
Brazil
Local time: 19:12
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Try Subtitle Workshop Dec 29, 2020

Hello, my friend

I'm sorry, but I've never used Aegisub, so I can' comment on this one.

However, there's the Translation Mode in Subtitle Workshop. When you click it, you see the space for translations beside the source text. When you save the SRT file, you can choose between the source or the translation.