Thread poster: Anne Greaves
Anne Greaves
Anne Greaves  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 11:12
French to English
Oct 6, 2017

Hello all,
I'm fairly new to Trados, I bought Studio 2017 this year. I've been sent a package by an agency who told me to make sure to check in the memory included. However, when I go to TM view it's greyed out so I can't do a search. Grateful if anyone knows a way around this.

Nora Diaz
Nora Diaz  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 04:12
Member (2002)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Where are you looking? Oct 6, 2017

Hi Anne,

Based on your description, I think it's possible that you're looking at the wrong location for your TM. For example, when a TM is added via Project Settings - Language Pairs - All Language Pairs - Translation Memory and Automated Translation, the same TM will appear grayed out under Project Settings - Language Pairs - (Your Specific Language Pair) - Translation Memory and Automated Translation, but the translation is available and active for your project, provided that all
... See more
Hi Anne,

Based on your description, I think it's possible that you're looking at the wrong location for your TM. For example, when a TM is added via Project Settings - Language Pairs - All Language Pairs - Translation Memory and Automated Translation, the same TM will appear grayed out under Project Settings - Language Pairs - (Your Specific Language Pair) - Translation Memory and Automated Translation, but the translation is available and active for your project, provided that all the right boxes (Enabled, LookUp, Concordance, Update) are checked.

In any case, maybe this will help: when a client asks us to use a TM they have provided with a package, that usually means that we should: